Cut down me fork springs

Discussion in 'Workshop' started by faffi, Mar 29, 2020.

1. faffi

faffi A.S.A.N.

Today, I cut down the fork springs in the Deauville, removing most of the soft sections. I was unsure what effect this would have, since the soft section would already be more or less coil bound and act more like spacers than springs with the preload I ran, but it made more sense to me than removing part of the stiff section.

I cut the springs with a Dremel, then heated the ends to make them as flat as I could, before I ground them flat on the bench grinder, using the side of the stone. I have never tried this before, but the springs ended up square and would balance just as well as on the stock end.

Did the springs become stiffer? Yes! The old preload, was a massive 60 mm. Doing my best to compress one fork leg with the stock spring and 60 mm of preload, I managed to use 105 of the standard 117 mm of travel. Now, with only 5 mm of preload for the cut springs - 55 mm less than before - I could only compress the fork 80 mm.

I also filled the fork with Motul fork oil with a cSt of 57.1 (stock is 35.2) in an attempt to get some compression damping and more rebound. That did not work as well as I hoped; there is still next to no compression damping, although rebound now is more controlled - hope there isn't too much. If the front end still dive like mad, I will need YSS valves to control it. Not been able to test ride it yet (or set sag since I will need a helper for that) because I have not got around to fit the new braided brake lines yet, so the bike has no front brake.

Cut, before grinding

[​IMG]

One short piece of spring, one ground flat, one yet to be ground
    [​IMG]

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. lindsaymac

lindsaymac Can't reMember
    Super Mod

I'm assuming you replaced the removed section of the spring with a spacer of equivalent length? You didn't mention it so I thought I'd ask.